Lemon & Wild Blueberry Muffins

Muffins are one of my favourite things to bake. They’re quick, easy, delicious and versatile. They can be breakfast, a snack, or part of a brown-bag lunch. Warmed with a cup of tea, they make cozy companions for a fireplace and a good book!

One of the great things about living in Newfoundland is that we have so many wonderful local berries. Every summer, blueberries, partridgeberries and bakeapples grow in abundance around St John’s. Marc and I love to go hiking on the East Coast Trail and fill our water bottles with blueberries, which grow in such great numbers that it feels like one could never pick them all.

While cleaning out my freezer, I stumbled upon some wild blueberries that we picked and flash-froze this past summer. These little treasures inspired me to make the delicious muffins pictured below. I’ve also been on somewhat of a lemon kick lately and so decided to add a bit of sunshine to this winter day with some lemon zest.

Recipe:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs
1/4 cup butter (to be melted)
1/2 cup + 1/4 cup whole milk
1 cup wild blueberries, fresh or frozen
zest of 1 lemon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit (200 Celsius). Prepare a muffin tin by either greasing the cups or filling with muffin papers.

Measure first four ingredients into a large bowl and mix. Make a well in the centre.

Beat eggs in a separate bowl until frothy. Add 1/2 cup whole milk as well as the blueberries and lemon zest. Melt butter, add it to the egg mixture and mix thoroughly. Pour the mixture into well and stir – do not overmix. Add milk from the remaining 1/4 cup – no need to add it all, but just enough so that the batter is not too thick to spoon into muffin cups.

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the tops are golden. Makes about 12 muffins.

For a fancier, more dessert-like muffin try adding a lemon glaze (mmm! So good!), such as this one from Jean Paré’s Muffins and More: combine 3 tbsp lemon juice and 1/4 cup sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir until sugar dissolves. Spoon the glaze over the muffins and allow to cool.

I hope everyone’s enjoying this winter weather. These muffins will definitely help us feel warmer among all this snow. Drive safely out there!

Recipe inspired by Jean Paré

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon & Wild Blueberry Muffins

  1. Sofia says:

    I love muffins! I’m forwarding this post to Eric and asking him to make some this weekend for breakfast. A nice step up from Cap’n Crunch.

  2. Johanne says:

    I loved reading your story of berry picking on the East Coast Trail and seeing the lovely photos of your baking ingredients, and I love that there are such things as partridge berries and bakeapples-! Amazing! And thank you for the links- I looked up these fanciful berries and would love to try them.

    I used to bake a lot of muffins but I’ve taken a sabbatical for.. oh maybe 5 years. This recipe is a perfect way to re-enter the muffin world since I love baked goods with lemon zest (I used to make lemon & cranberry muffins) and the blueberry & lemon combo sounds delish!

    Great post, fab recipe, awesome photos. ❤
    -J

    • Thanks, Johanne!

      I loved the blueberry and lemon combo, too – it’s my first time trying it. I think wild blueberries work best because they add a certain “zip” – they’re tarter and more flavourful than the larger, farmed variety. They’re also smaller, and so interfere less with the muffin’s texture. I’ve seen them at most grocery stores with the other frozen fruits, which I think is great!

  3. Jordana says:

    Muffins, eh? I never make muffins! Thanks for the inspiration…and reminding me how good muffins can be.
    -Jordana

  4. Johanne says:

    So I baked these muffins and they were fantastic! Amazing recipe!

    I didn’t have wild blueberries flash-frozen, but rather mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, blueberries) frozen and rather icy in my freezer. They worked out perfectly- I tossed them lightly in the flour mix so that they wouldn’t discolour the batter instead of mixing them with the wet ingredients.

    The muffins look amazing and taste even better- not overmixing the batter seems to be the trick. I think I’ve previously overmixed muffin batter; lesson learned- this is beautiful, light, and has amazing texture. I will definitely bake these again soon. I’m going to try to 1 cup whole wheat flour this time, just to see ;).

    Thanks again for an inspiring break to my muffin hiatus!
    -J

    • Thanks for the update! Mixed small berries would work really well in this recipe – what a great idea.

      When I made the recipe, I found the blueberries did indeed turn the batter blue! Thankfully, the muffins themselves were a perfect golden colour once they were baked. Flouting is a good solution.

Leave a Reply

